Governing Body

The EMCC UK Governing Body ensures effective, transparent governance of our organisation. The Governors are elected by our members, with the exception of the Finance Manager. Our Governor Members are:

  • Chandra Ashfield - Finance Manager
  • Claire Davey
  • Kathy Denton
  • Alison Hodge  (Non Executive Director)
  • Lis Merrick - President
  • David Sleightholm
  • Derek Watson
  • Karen Wood

    The role of the Governing Body is to hold the Directors to account on behalf of the wider membership. It has the power to appoint and remove Directors. It also has the power to amend the constitution of EMCC UK - in legal terms, the Governor Members are the members of the company (as EMCC UK is a company limited by guarantee).

    Governor Members

    The Governing Body is made up of eight Governor Members. Six of them will be elected by the wider EMCC UK membership, with two of these Governors being elected every year. In addition the EMCC UK President is also elected by the wider membership to serve a three-year term. The eighth Governor Member is appointed by the seven elected Governors to be the Finance Manager.

    The President and Finance Manager are automatically appointed as Directors on the board. Of the remaining six Governors, ideally a minimum of two and a maximum of four are appointed as non-Executive Directors. Those remaining Governors, who are not also Directors, bring an independent perspective.

    Becoming a Governor Member

    If you are an individual member of EMCC UK and would be interested in volunteering to become a Governor Member, there is an election process each year. Announcements will be made when the period for nominations is open and an election pack will then be available.